The 2nd International Symposium on Swarm Behavior and Bio-Inspired Robotics 2017





KYOTÖ, Japan, October 29 – November 1, 2017 http://www.ohk.hiroshima-u.ac.jp/SWARM2017/

Scope: Living things that survive natural selection have adaptive skills and intelligent behavior. A swarm can perform many functions that its component individuals cannot possibly accomplish alone. For example, in addition to the ability to adapt to the environment, a swarm can construct a suitable environment for its own advantage. The constructive understanding of intelligence of living things is a very interesting approach from the point of view of biology and engineering. The aim of this second symposium SWARM2017 is the construction of a bridge between biologists and engineers who are interested in the intelligence of living things and the creation of a new academic field by integrating biology and engineering. This symposium will focus on the biological and engineering approaches for understanding swarm behavior and biologically-inspired robotics. All aspects of swarm behavior and bio-inspired robotics are welcome, including - but not limited to - the following topics:

Related Topics

Biology

Social insects, Evolution Cooperation, Ethology, Social physiology, Adaptation, Self-organization, Sociometry, Phase polyphenism, Quorum sensing

Engineering

Swarm Intelligence, Swarm Robotics Biomimetics, Bio-inspired Robotics, Multi-agent System, Walking robots, Modular robotics, Decentralized control, Distributed system

Site

Kyoto University Clock Tower Centennial Hall



the Important Dates (Extended)

Submission of full papers Notification of Acceptance Camera Ready Submission & fee payment deadline June 15, 2017 August 10, 2017 September 1, 2017

General Chair

Fumitoshi Matsuno (Kyoto University)

Vice-General Chair

Marco Dorigo (Université libre de Bruxelles) Yukio Gunji (Waseda University) Kazuki Tsuji (University of the Ryukyus)

🛉 Program Chair

Kazuhiro Ohkura (Hiroshima University)

🛉 Vice-Program Chair

Kenji Matsuura (Kyoto University) Toru Namerikawa (Keio University) Florentin Wörgötter

(Georg-August Universitat Gottingen)

For further information, please contact us. swarm2017@ mechatronics.me.kyoto-u.ac.jp

The International Symposium on Swarm Behavior and Bio-Inspired Robotics 2017

Advisory Committee

Andrew Adamatzky (University of the West England, UK) Hajime Asama (The University of Tokyo, Japan) Tamim Asfour (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany) Dora Biro (University of Oxford, UK) Howie Choset (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) Jean-Louis Deneubourg (ULB, Belgium) Magnus Egerstedt (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA) Simon Garnier (Rutgers University, USA) Jan Tommy Gravdahl (NUST, Norway) Yoshinori Hayakawa (Tohoku University, Japan) Auke Jan Ijspeert (EPFL, Switzerland) Takashi Ikegami (The University of Tokyo, Japan) Yingmin Jia (Beihang University, China) Jeff Jones (University of the West England, UK) Francesco Mondada (EPFL, Switzerland) James Marshall (University of Sheffield, UK) Toshiya Matsushima (Hokkaido University, Japan) Hiraku Nishimori (Hiroshima University, Japan) Rolf Pfeifer (University of Zurich, Switzerland) Ioannis Poulakakis (University of Delaware, USA) Stephen Pratt (Arizona State University, USA) Jonathan Rossiter (Bristol University, UK) Takao Sasaki (University of Oxford, UK) Hiroshi Sato (NDAJ, Japan) Masashi Shiraishi (Waseda University, Japan) Tomohiro Shirakawa (NDAJ, Japan) David Sumpte (Uppsala Universitet, Sweden) Dimitris P. Tsakiris (University of Crete, Greece) Kazuo Tuchiya (Kyoto University, Japan) Florentin Wörgötter (Georg-August-Universitat Gottingen, Germany)

General Chair

Fumitoshi Matsuno (Kyoto University, Japan)

Vice-General Chair

Marco Dorigo (Université libre de Bruxelles , Belgium) Yukio Gunji (Waseda University, Japan) Kazuki Tsuji (University of the Ryukyus, Japan)

Program Chair

Kazuhiro Ohkura (Hiroshima University, Japan)

Vice-Program Chair

Kenji Matsuura (Kyoto University, Japan) Toru Namerikawa (Keio University) Florentin Wörgötter (Georg-August-Universitat Gottingen, Germany)

Workshop/Organized Session Chair

Poramate Manoonpong (The University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)

Publication Chair

Keitaro Naruse (The University of Aizu, Japan)

Publicity Chair

Toshiyuki Yasuda (University of Toyama, Japan)

Registration Chair

Tetsushi Kamegawa (Okayama University, Japan)

Finance Chair

Kazuyuki Ito (Hosei University, Japan)

Local Arrangement Chair

Shinya Aoi (Kyoto University, Japan)

Local Arrangement Vice-Chair

Shigeto Dobata (Kyoto University, Japan)

Secretary

Toshiyuki Yasuda (University of Toyama, Japan) Hemma Philamore (Kyoto University, Japan)

Program Committee

Andrew Adamatzky (University of the West England, UK) Hitoshi Aonuma (Hokkaido University, Japan) Fumihiko Asano (JAIST, Japan) Shunichi Azuma (Nagoya University, Japan) Mauro Birattari (ULB, Belgium) Zlatan Car (University of Rijeka, Croatia) Shigeto Dobata (Kyoto University, Japan) Takahiro Endo (Kyoto University, Japan) Ryusuke Fujisawa (Hachinohe Institute of Technology, Japan) Masashi Furukawa (Hokkaido Information University, Japan) Daniel I. Goldman (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA) Roderich Gross (The University of Sheffield, UK) Takeshi Hatanaka (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan) Kiyohiko Hattori (Saitama Institute of Technology, Japan) Sabine Hauert (Bristol University, UK) Tomohisa Hayakawa (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan) Hiroyuki lizuka (Hokkaido University, Japan) Takashi Ikegami (The University of Tokyo, Japan) Yusuke Ikemoto (Meijo University, Japan) Hideaki Ishii (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan) Masato Ishikawa (Osaka University, Japan) Kenji Iwadate (Kitami Institute of Technology, Japan) Kazuyuki Ito (Hosei University, Japan) Jeff Jones (University of the West England, UK) Keitaro Naruse (University of Aizu, Japan) Tetsushi Kamegawa (Okayama University, Japan) Yoshiaki Katada (Setsunan University, Japan) Takashi Kawakami (Hokkaido University of Science, Japan) Tae-Hyoung Kim (Chung-Ang University, Korea) Masao Kubo (National Defense Academy of Japan, Japan) Poramate Manoonpong (The University of Southern Denmark, Denmark) Kamilo Melo (EPFL, Switzerland) Masao Migita (Shiga University, Japan) Shuhei Miyashita (MIT, USA) Toru Moriyama (Shinshu University, Japan) Masaaki Nagahara (The University of Kitakyushu, Japan) Mihoko Niitsuma (Chuo University, Japan) Hiraku Nishimori (Hiroshima University, Japan) Hemma Philamore (Kyoto University, Japan) Stephen Pratt (Arizona State University, USA) Jonathan Rossiter (Bristol University, UK) Kazunori Sakurama (Tottori University, Japan) Hiroshi Sato (NDAJ, Japan) Hyungbo Shim (Seoul National University, Korea) Hiroyuki Shimoji (Hokkaido University, Japan) Tomohiro Shirakawa (NDAJ, Japan) Masashi Shiraishi (Waseda University, Japan) Metin Sitti (Carnegie Mellon University, USA) Ken Sugawara (Tohoku Gakuin University, Japan) Yasuhiro Sugimoto (Osaka University, Japan) Keiji Suzuki (Future University Hakodate, Japan) Ikuo Suzuki (Kitami Institute of Technology, Japan) Keiki Takadama (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan) Motoyasu Tanaka (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan) Vito Trianni (Institute of Cognitive Sciences and Technologies, Italy) Elio Tuci (Middlesex University, London, UK) Ali Emre Turgut (University of Leuven, Belgium) Masaki Yamakita (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan) Masahito Yamamoto (Hokkaido University, Japan) Kazuaki Yamada (Toyo University, Japan) Toshiyuki Yasuda (University of Toyama, Japan) Stefan John Witwicki (EPFL, Switzerland) Daniel Zelazo (Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)

For further information, please contact us.